top of page

The Purchase Of A Quarter Million Baseball Cards

Baseball cards are my passion. Many people I meet are curious that a grown man collects pieces of cardboard featuring pictures of other men almost half his age. Weird when you look at it that way.

For me, and many other baseball card collecting adults, it's an addiction. Well, it's not really an addiction as much as that one annoying friend you can never get rid of. 

Another question posed is "what do you collect?" Chicago Cubs is the most common answer, but I'm not actively buying Cubs cards for my collection. So, I guess I collect everything and my wife would agree with that. 

Selling gives me just as much of a thrill than buying (and hoarding). Helping fellow collectors fill their sets is very satisfying. 

Over the past few years I have dabbled in buying large lots and collections. This has turned into well over a million baseball cards and now a very large basement has become quite small. 

This morning I made a quick two-hour drive to DeKalb, Illinois to purchase roughly 250,000 baseball, football, and hockey cards. This transaction began on the Blowout Cards forums where a fellow member had in his signature, "looking to move roughly 250,000 cards - northern Illinois pickup only." Perfect! After a Back and forth we set a price and date for pickup. 

The cards range from junk era (late 1980's to present). Unfortunately for me, many of the cards are sorted by team (I am attempting to sort my cards my year and set). I've only inspected a few boxes thus far, and it is promising. My initial fear was that I would open up and find thousands and thousands of 1988-1992 cards.

Initially, the plan will be to cherry pick junk era stars and sell off player lots. The Cubs will be stashed aside for my personal collection, and large blocks of cards sorted by set will be added to our Sportlots inventory. Team lots will eventually be sold as well. 

If anyone is looking for player or team specific items please send me an email at beauspencer82@hotmail.com. I will offer direct discounts on cards purchased through email than those purchased through my EBay and Sportlots accounts. 


bottom of page