top of page

Support Your Local Card Shop: 2013 Heritage Minors Box Break

Set Filler Cards is in the process of a major inventory organization process. An inventory closing in on one million cards requires a major sorting job. As I begin to better organize the collection I was in need of some 3,000 count boxes. 

A trip to my local card shop (LCS) was in order this afternoon to purchase a few of these storage boxes. My LCS is the Baseball Card Shoppe in Madison, Wisconsin. It has a great selection of old wax, new wax, singles, supplies, and memorabilia. It sits in a small space in a strip mall on the west side of town. The perfect amount of space to pack all these hobby goodies into.

As I walked in my eyes immediatey look to the left as you walk into the door. This is where the shop places partial hobby boxes. Normally I do not like buying these in fear of pack searchers, but I trust this store and have purchased some of these in the past. 

A box of 10 packs of 2013 Topps Heritage Minors was on sale for $29.99. That's basically the price of a blaster at Target. And I love Heritage Minors. It joined my purchase of storage boxes today.

Just two packs in I pulled a hit. Corey Oswalt autograph. Not a big name, but an auto is an auto. 

Another hit came in the form of a Venezuelan Parallel of Aaron Sanchez. You need check the back sides as the Venezuelan cards look identical from the front. The only difference is the back is black.

Speaking of black borders, I pulled a Matt Andriese Black Border 12/96. 

As for the base cards, this set is full of young stars. This is my favorite part of recent Heritage Minors cards as the players are either beginning to make a name for themselves or have (or in the process of) fizzled out. The biggest name in my eyes is Cubs star Javier Baez, pictured with the Class A advanced Daytona Cubs. It will join my Baez personal collection.

Other base card stars include: Matt Olson, Jimmy Nelson, Tyler Naquin, Marcus Stroman, Stephen Piscotty, Lewis Brinson, and the late Oscar Taveras.

No big hits, but always a fun, cheap break. Another box on sale is regular issue 2015 Topps Heritage. Maybe next week!


bottom of page